Monday, July 18, 2011

Catherine A. Jones Memorial Scholarship (for D.C. area SLA members)

The Washington, D.C. Chapter of SLA announces its 2011 scholarship program. The Catherine A. Jones Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by IOP Publishing, will be awarded by the chapter in late August 2011 for studies leading to a Master’s Degree from an ALA accredited graduate Library Science program.

DC/SLA encourages talented men and women to join us with a career in special librarianship by assisting students who are preparing for a Master’s Degree in Library Science. In support of this goal, a $2,000 cash scholarship is being awarded this year.

Selection criteria include:
An essay describing the applicant’s interest in special librarianship and professional goals, including anticipated contribution to the profession (two-– three pages, 1,000–2,000 words)
Letter of academic or professional recommendation
Membership in the Washington, D.C. Chapter of SLA (If you aren’t a DC/SLA member yet, SLA student dues are only $40 per year. Join today at Remember to choose the Washington, D.C. Chapter on your SLA membership form.)
Enrolled or accepted in an ALA-accredited Library Science program
The scholarship application form is available on the DC/SLA website at
For more information about the scholarship see:

Application deadline: August 12, 2011.